Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

image

Max Yasgur ‘Life  Bronze Sculpture’ Study by Bill Osmundsen

 

image

In 1969 Dairy Farmer Max Yasgur hosted the famed Woodstock Folk Festival.

 

image

In August of 2019, the ‘Festival’ will celebrate it’s 50th Anniversary.

 

 

image

I made my study from a dozen or more photographs and a video I saw of Max creating one image from this informative composite. Here, I drew my own hand to put it in proper perspective.

image

Hands can be as expressive as your face.  They are a key part in telling Max’s story.

image

A Pipe was an ever present prop for Max, so I had to consider that as well.
I’ve been a pipe smoker, since before this famous festival, but didn’t have one at my studio, so I shot a selfee of my hand with a small can and pencil to double for a pipe.
image

I just started sketching on the back of a full sized sheet of watercolor paper.
Had something on the front which I wasn’t going to use and didn’t want to waste the sheet.

image

Using Watercolor Pencil to draw and it’s solubility for a wash, I started to see Max on the page and began to develop a background. I want to see the statue of Max, walking in his pasture, with his ever present pipe greeting visitors, at the ‘Bethel Woods Center for the Arts’ flashing the ‘Peace Sign’. (Bethel Woods is the original site of the Woodstock Folk Festival. Bet you thought it was in Woodstock.)

image

It can be somewhat difficult  just to imagine a person and their pose
and place them in a location you haven’t seen.  In addition you have to
think of your subject as a bronze statue and about translating it into                                  3-dimensions;- all the while making a true likeness.

image

I feel I have achieved some success  with this first study.
My next step will be to sculpt a maquette 20″ – 30″ in clay.
I’ll move on to the rest of the figure.  I don’t visualize much
of a base, I would like Max to walking his fields like farmers
are apt to do.

Bill Osmundsen
Portsmouth, NH
Jan. 25, 2016

 

 

